Jul 26, 2017 - 07:43 PM

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
jam22
Post subject: Network Printing  PostPosted: Jul 10, 2006 - 07:51 AM




Joined: Jan 13, 2006
Posts: 14

Hi.

I would like to know how to use network printing in linux. I have two kanotix 2005-4 setup. It is connected to a network switch and the dsl modem.

When I setup the printers I can see in CUPS the local printer I have installed for the other computer and so with the other unit.

However, I cannot use the local printer of the second computer. I thought I could just select it just like an ordinary local printer. But it does not work.

Can someone help me on this. I relatively new to linux and networking.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlekin
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 10, 2006 - 10:10 AM




Joined: Jun 21, 2006
Posts: 91
Location: Switzerland
Maybe in the CUPS docs you'll find what you're looking for ... (At present, I'm engaged in torturing a Windows machine Sehr böse and therefore cannot provide a more "detailed" answer, sorry.)

_________________
Arlekin's Dream Ltd. / Bernd Villiger et al.
Linux 2.6.15.6-kanotix-1 [i686] KDE 3.5.3
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
bluewater
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 10, 2006 - 01:34 PM




Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 55
Location: Australia
i am going to assume you have"add printer" on both boxes.. did you enable all users ,, cups has not been playing nicely of late.. open contril centre >periphs> ptinters>properties of the added printer in question. and use the slider to see USERS ensure "all allowed" and the are no "denied users"

_________________
Kanotix Easter RC4 on a dual boot P4 and a production box Desktop KDE
Kanotix 2006 Easter RC2 on a P2 and Production Box , Desktop KDE
Kanotix EasterRC4 on a MMX 199Mhz lappy
and a Production Box, Desktop ICEWM
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
schnorrer
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 10, 2006 - 07:08 PM




Joined: Jan 09, 2006
Posts: 1539

PrinterA on Pc-A printing is default for localhost same for printerB on Pc-B.
now you want printing from Pc-B with PrinterA.

Install the PrinterA as usual on Pc-B but for the location where to find PrinterA just say it is a networkshared one. and give as URI the address fom Pc-A.

On the Pc-A you've add allowed host-printing to Pc-B

@arlekin same torture on windows. you have to install the printerdriver for the printer you want using and declare the Port to the network-address where the printer resides.and at that mashine you should add the windows-client as an allowed one for printerusage.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jam22
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 12, 2006 - 03:16 AM




Joined: Jan 13, 2006
Posts: 14

Thanks for the response guys.

I'll give it a try. I thought it would be different in linux. I was excited to see that the printer showed up in the printer manager and inside open office. I thought I could just select it and it would now print.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
schnorrer
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 12, 2006 - 08:57 PM




Joined: Jan 09, 2006
Posts: 1539

Linux is the Printer-server and windws the client. Windows needs the driver for the printer and houd know wehre to send the data. Local network or file. for all those connetions, Win has to know how to prepare the data and where to send.

Same for all other OS's
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jam22
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 13, 2006 - 06:46 AM




Joined: Jan 13, 2006
Posts: 14

Hi Again.

I am a little confused. Although my little research has helped me understand linux printing and cups better.

cups supports automatic client configuration of printers on the same subnet. According to the manual, to configure printers on the same subnet, you do not have to anything.

This is why I can see the printer in Computer B together with its URI.

Now, If I am not suppose to do anything, then it should work right away. BTW. the printer works fine locally in Computer B.

But it does not. If I test the printer it says test ok. But I see no output.

Now, if I set it up, what shall I choose. (Remote CUPS server or Network Printer with /IPP)?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
schnorrer
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 14, 2006 - 01:43 AM




Joined: Jan 09, 2006
Posts: 1539

Where is the local Printer attached: I asume on Computer-B. This one is now the server for all other Computers in your net.

Local you can print at any time. from Computer-B.
Next step is to setup the drivers for the other Computers, pointing to the NET-URI on Computer-B.
3. you should configure your networksettings on Computer-B to share the Printer for the network.
Cups.conf on Computer-B has now to know which other computer/User has accessment to this SHARE.

Cups has also to know, wether the printing data should send directly to the printer, or if cups has to interpret the sent Data, and do the printing.

so far with the explaination.

The URI is seen from all Client computers in the same subnet. But not configured for the usage.
This means, if you can see the URI, you can choose this Printer and install the right driver on every Computer attached to this subnet.

Command to use this printer: print //server:631 filexyz.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jam22
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2006 - 03:05 AM




Joined: Jan 13, 2006
Posts: 14

Hi schnorrer!

Thanks for your patience. I have been studying this. And until now, i am lost. However, I think I am almost there. Smilie

Per this article http://www.linuxprinting.org/kpfeifle/L ... -kdeprint/

I should have been able to do what I have wanted. re>>

"Driverless" printing to remote CUPS server -- Plug'n'Play printing

CUPS and kprinter work together seamlessly to exchange all informations about available job options with no further user action. Click on the "Properties" button to get displayed all possible driver settings of the printer. They can be found on the " Driver Settings" tab. (The other tabs provide general print options, not dependent on the target printer.)


However, I can't . I have tried using konqueror and localhost:631 instead of kdeprint.

I think I have pinpointed my problem. When I select manage printers, I would then again be shown the remote printer. When I click on it, it will then show FORBIDDEN, you don't have access to the resource on this server.

Now, what I want to know is how do I get the other computer to share its printer? Where do I find that option. I logged in as root and click on the system icon from the desktop. I then chose settings and then internet and networking. I really don't know where to give access.

Also, I went to KDEPrint as user. Per the properties tab of the printer and the user icon, I have given all users access.

Per your last instruction, you said that I should configure my network settings to share the printer.

I'm not really sure how to get about it.

Please help.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
schnorrer
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2006 - 04:35 AM




Joined: Jan 09, 2006
Posts: 1539

Jam22, hop I realy understood you right.

The printer, you will share, is connected at a win Client mashine.
The programm with the printerjob is on the linux mashine, right?

Cups should be responsible for the printer placed at win.

State 1. Win with printer has to be online.
2. the printer should be shared for the whole network and win should know which mashines/users has accesrights to print.
This needs smb on linux side!

3. linux should have samba-client started, because we want to connect to win-share.
4. we have to make sure smb-print can access the win-printer.
Cups via tcp got the printer and driver. But the printerqueue isn't set to smb-print. printing is therfoe not possible.

5. we have to configure cups to use the smb-protocol to send the printing data to our printer.
6. we have to add the user to access cups, and this time the USER on SMB and Cups must be the same name, like on windows.

On win: resp. shared access printing USER="michael" Mashine="linux" access= true.
on linux: resp. queue: SMB_USER="michael" SMB-Mashine="linux"

cups should create the data for the printer, and use as the output queue smb-printer.smb_user.smb-machine

cups does not do the printing, it does ony the convertion html to what ever the printer can read.
SMB(Samba) will send this converted datato the printer, but only when samba has the printing-rights on the Win-Mashine.
otherwise SMB send the status forbidden back to cups.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jam22
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2006 - 08:06 AM




Joined: Jan 13, 2006
Posts: 14

Hi Again.

No. I am not running windows. I am running two computers on kanotix 2005-04. They are both connected to a network switch. Computer B has a laser printer connected to it which I want to use from Computer A.

Both are running kde and cups that is why Kdeprint can automatically see the printer but if I chose it and send a test print, it says that it has been sent but there is no printout.

The printer connected to Computer B locally works fine.

Hope this helps.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
monkymind
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2006 - 08:53 AM




Joined: Aug 21, 2004
Posts: 122

jam22 wrote:
Hi Again.

No. I am not running windows. I am running two computers on kanotix 2005-04. They are both connected to a network switch. Computer B has a laser printer connected to it which I want to use from Computer A.

Both are running kde and cups that is why Kdeprint can automatically see the printer but if I chose it and send a test print, it says that it has been sent but there is no printout.

The printer connected to Computer B locally works fine.

Hope this helps.

Hi jam22
have you given your "Computer A" permission to print to the "Computer B" in cups.conf?

In my cups.conf I've added the ip of the computer I wanted to access the local printer - see red entry below ....


DefaultAuthType Basic
<Location />
# Allow shared printing...
Order allow,deny
Allow @LOCAL
Allow @192.168.100.101
</Location
>

Let me know how you go .....
Cheers
rob
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bluewater
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2006 - 09:26 AM




Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 55
Location: Australia
Computer B has a laser printer connected and its working (good stuff)

Now pop into Computer A, Control Centre>Periphs>Printing and click on ADD PRINTER, ask it to scan for a printer or network printer

Copmputer A has to "see" Computer Bs' Printer

You may need to play round with clicking the correct radio button before Computer A is able to find Computer B. (It took me a couple of goes)

Also you may need to click "Admin Mode" to be able to start the "add printer " process

_________________
Kanotix Easter RC4 on a dual boot P4 and a production box Desktop KDE
Kanotix 2006 Easter RC2 on a P2 and Production Box , Desktop KDE
Kanotix EasterRC4 on a MMX 199Mhz lappy
and a Production Box, Desktop ICEWM
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jam22
Post subject:   PostPosted: Aug 01, 2006 - 02:34 AM




Joined: Jan 13, 2006
Posts: 14

Hi Guys,

Took me sometime to respond. I still have not figured it out unfortunately. I cannot locate the cups.conf file. However, I located a cupsd.conf file under etc/cups directory. Is this the one? I tried adding the line. The printer icon in computer b changed. It looks like two small printers that are connected but it still does not work.

I have come up with some assumptions. I think cups is working fine. The reason I can see the remote printer is that it is broadcasting itself. However, for me to use it, I think I need computer A to allow network access to computer B. However, I don't know how to do that. How do you do it? Is it in any of the control center panels?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
 
RSS All News | English News | Deutsche News | All Forum Topics | English Forum Topics | Deutsche Forum Topics
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you

Fatal error: Call to a member function Execute() on a non-object in /srv/www/subdomains/archive/includes/pnSession.php on line 378